Concealed Handgun License Program

Enroll in one of our courses--taught by certified instructorsto register for your Concealed Handgun License (CHL).

Concealed Handgun License (CHL) applicants must complete handgun training taught by a DPS-certified CHL instructor.

Prepare to Get Your CHL in Five Steps

 

Step 1: Read and review CHL Eligibility Requirements

Start by making sure you are eligible to get a CHL from the State of Texas: CHL Eligibility Requirements  (PDF will open in a new window).

The Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility.

If you are not eligible for a license, then you do not need to take a CHL course.

 

Step 2: Review the most current information from the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS)

You can visit the Texas Department of Public Safety for additional updated information.

Register for your CHL through TxDPS.

Also, you can pre-pay your state license fees online—although you are not required to do so before class.

Note: State fees are non-refundable and are separate from course fees.

 

Step 3: Prepare for class and get informed

Make sure you have everything on our List of Required Training Items (PDF will open in a new window). You must have these items to participate in the course.

Review the 25 Most Common Questions About CHL (PDF will open in a new window) to familiarize yourself with classroom and range rules as well as to learn more about CHL.

If you have any questions not covered, please call us at 817-515-7760.

 

Step 4: Enroll in class

Class size is limited to 30 participants. Enrollment is on a first-come, first-served basis.

Learn how to register for our Continuing Education courses.

Check our schedule of classes:

  1. Go to WebAdvisor in your Web browser
  2. Select Click here to see our current class offerings
  3. Select a Continuing Education Term option
  4. Select LAEX-Law Enforcement CE NF from the Subject list
  5. Select LAEX-1008 Concealed Handgun

If you have questions or problems, please call us at 817-515-7759, and we will guide you through the registration process or mail you a paper registration form that can be faxed.

 

Step 5: Attend our one-day Concealed Handgun course

The State of Texas regulates the minimum and maximum training period, so it is important for you to be on time for your training sessions.

Course Details

  • When: Saturdays, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. with an hour break for lunch
  • Where: Northwest Campus
  • Cost: $75

 

Print all Five Steps: CHL Program (PDF will open in a new window)

 

Get Your CHL

After you have completed the training course, submit the designated paperwork to the TxDPS. If everything is in order, you should receive your CHL in 4-6 weeks.

Please understand that even though you have completed the CHL training program, you cannot legally carry a handgun under the CHL rules until after you have received your actual Concealed Handgun License from the State of Texas.

If you have any questions, please call us. We will be glad to help you.  Your safety and protection are our concerns. We look forward to seeing you in training!

 

Contact

Tarrant County College Northwest Campus
Criminal Justice Training Center / Police Academy
4801 Marine Creek Parkway
Fort Worth, Texas 76179
817-515-7760

 

 

Updated February 13, 2014

 

Tarrant County College District 1500 Houston Street Fort Worth, Texas 76102 • Information Center: 817-515-8223 Hearing / Speech Impaired (TTY)
Online Institutional Resumes (per Sec. 51A.002, Texas Education Code) • Report A Problem • An Achieving the Dream Institution

©