English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Career Coach buttonESOL is available on the Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Trinity River campuses.

The program consists of developmental courses in Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing for students who are non-native English speakers and want to:

  • Develop English proficiency for academic, career or personal purposes
  • Prepare to function in educational, vocational and/or personal environments requiring proficiency in English
  • Prepare to function in a multicultural, multilingual society
  • Earn an academic degree or certificate

To Enroll

  1. Meet with an academic or ESOL advisor.
  2. Complete the admissions process, including placement testing/assessment.
  3. Seek a "granted petition" from either an academic or ESOL advisor.
  4. Go to Web Advisor to register and pay for courses the same day.

Please contact an ESOL advisor for assistance with registration, if needed.

Please note:

  • Developmental courses do not earn credit and are not transferable. 
  • ESOL grades are not computed in the grade point average (GPA).

 

Contact

Northeast Campus
Angela Pettit, Associate Professor of English and Academic Foundations Coordinator
Academic Foundations
NFAC-3214A
817-515-6543
angela.pettit@tccd.edu

Language Acquisition Center
NACB Room 1114
817-515-6901 

Northwest Campus

Anita Biber, Department Chair
Academic Foundations
WFAB 2620
817-515-7302
anita.biber@tccd.edu

Guadalupe (Alex) Vargas, ESOL Academic Advisor
Counseling Office
WCTS 1131A
817-515-7212
guadalupe.vargas@tccd.edu

ESOL/Developmental Studies Tutoring Lab
WCTS 1214
817-515-7316
NW.ESOLtutoring@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus
Mary Cinatl, Instructor of ESOL
Academic Foundations Department
ESEC 2130-A
817-515-3147
mary.cinatl@tccd.edu

Mary (Kathy) Nevins, Tutor, Reading, ESOL Lab
ESEE 2223
817-515-3812
mary.nevins@tccd.edu

Ann Nguyen, ESOL Academic Advisor
ESEC 2103
817-515-3578
ann.nguyen@tccd.edu

Trinity River
Michelle Menchaca, Instructor of ESOL
English and Language Acquisition Department
TREF 5225C
817-515-1348
michelle.menchaca@tccd.edu

 

 

Updated February 19, 2014

 

Tarrant County College District 1500 Houston Street Fort Worth, Texas 76102
Information Center: 817-515-8223 Hearing / Speech Impaired (TTY)
Online Institutional Resumes (per Sec. 51A.002, Texas Education Code)
Report A Problem

An Achieving the Dream Institution

©