## TARRANT COUNTY COLLEGE DISTRICT

Special Meeting May 16, 2023 4:00PM

## 1. Call to Order

The Board of Trustees conducted a Special Meeting of the Board on May 16, 2023 at the Trinity River Campus, with Ms. Teresa Ayala presiding. Other Trustees present were Mr. Leonard Hornsby, Mr. Kenneth Barr, Dr. Gwendolyn Morrison, Ms. Shannon Wood, and Ms. Jeannie Deakyne. Also present were Chancellor Elva LeBlanc and members of the TCCD staff.

#### 2. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

## 3. Consideration and Approval of Individual Action Items

Trustee Ayala stated that the purpose of this Special Meeting is to canvass and accept the official results for the May 6, 2023, General Election for Tarrant County College District Single-Member Districts Four and Five, and to call for a run-off election between the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes for District Four.

Carol Bracken, TCCD General Counsel, provided the results as follows: In TCCD Trustee District Four, Laura Forkner Prichett received 6,228 votes or 42.26% of the votes cast on May 6, 2023; Bill Greenhill received 4,491 votes or 30.47% of the votes cast on May 6, 2023; Larry Dale Carpenter Jr. received 2,737 votes or 15.57% of the votes cast on May 6, 2023; and Jack Reynolds received 1,283 votes or 8.70% of the votes cast on May 6, 2023. Because no candidate received a majority of the votes, a runoff election will be held between Laura Forkner Prichett and Bill Greenhill – the candidates who received the highest number of votes on May 6, 2023. The runoff will be ordered today and held on June 10, 2023.

In TCCD Trustee District Five, Leonard Hornsby received 5,945 votes or 51.74% of the total votes cast on May 6, 2023, which is the majority of the votes cast, making Mr. Hornsby the winner. His opponent, Nikka Stroba, received 5,545 votes, or 48.26% of the total votes cast.

The official tabulation of the results of the Election, including precinct-level returns, is contained in ATTACHMENT A to the Order Canvassing Returns and Declaring the Results of the May 6, 2023 General Election for Tarrant County College District Single-Member Districts Four and Five, which has been provided to Trustees.

a. Order Canvassing Returns and Declaring the Results of the May 6, 2023, General Election for Tarrant County College District Single-Member Districts Four and Five

On a motion by Mr. Barr, seconded by Dr. Morrison, the motion was unanimously approved.

Trustee Ayala announced that the record should reflect the official canvass results for the May 6, 2023 General Election for the Tarrant County College District Single Member District Four and have been accepted and approved.

b. Resolution and Order for Tarrant County College District Runoff Election for Single-Member Districts Four and Five

Because no candidate received the majority of the votes cast for the District Four Trustee position, the next order of business is to order a runoff election for District Four.

Ms. Bracken stated that because the Board has accepted the official canvass results of the May 6, 2023 election, and no candidate in the District Four election won a majority of the votes cast, the Board should order a runoff election for District Four between Laura Forkner Prichett and Bill Greenhill, to be held on June 10, 2023, for the purpose of electing one Trustee for a regular term. The administration of the election, including preparation of ballots, early voting, voting by mail, election day voting, and the tabulation of votes, will be handled by the Tarrant County Elections Office under the election services contract with that entity. Staff recommends that the Board approve and adopt this Resolution and Order.

On a motion by Dr. Morrison, seconded by Mr. Hornsby, the item was unanimously approved.

# 4. Consideration and Action on Closed Session Items

There was no Closed Session

#### 5. Adjournment and Announcement of Next Meeting

On a motion by Mrs. Deakyne, seconded by Ms. Wood, the meeting was adjourned at 4:07pm.

Teresa Marie Ayala, President

Board of Trustees

Jeannie Deakyne, Secretary

Board of Trustees