Skip to main content

Real Estate Salesperson License

Marketing, Advertising, Public Relations, Sales & Service career cluster

Quick Program Facts

  • Number of courses: 6
  • Total hours: 180
  • Length of program: 6 months
  • Times offered: monthly
  • Cost: $720
  • Schedule: Classes are scheduled on a 5-week basis 
  • Type of instruction: courses delivered on computers in instructional labs
  • Campus: Northeast and Haltom City Northeast Center
  • Prepares you to petition the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) to sit for the Salesperson Licensure Exam

Program Description

Enrolling in our real estate program is your first step toward getting your Real Estate Salesperson License.

How the Program Works

  • Course content is delivered by computer.
    Homework and testing take place in an instructional lab on Northeast Campus or at the Haltom City Northeast Center. The instructor is not in the lab. You can reach your instructor via myTCC, email or telephone.
  • You must go to the lab. No exceptions.
    Lab time must be logged for you to complete the course and receive your certificate. The real estate courses are not like distance learning courses because you must be in the lab. You can view the materials at home, but that time spent is not counted towards your required 30 hours.
  • You need to work 6 hours per week in the lab to get the 30 hours.
    Plan on up to 3 visits to the lab per week.
  • You are responsible for making sure all your lab time is logged by the attendant.
    Please note that the attendant will not be able to answer questions about your course material. You will be working on your own.
  • The classes require time, homework, reading and hands-on assignments.
    You could be ready in 6 months because the classes move fast. The time you spend studying for class prepares you for the state exam.
  • You are responsible for getting the correct textbook from the TCC Bookstore.

Instructional Lab Hours

Northeast and Haltom City Northeast Center

Monday–Thursday:

  • Morning: 9 a.m.–noon
  • Afternoon: 1–4 p.m.
  • Evening: 5:30–8:30 p.m.

Credentials in Detail

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) is the entity that issues licenses and establishes the course requirements.

You must complete 6 courses (30 hours each) to be eligible to apply to take your exam. You can fulfill those hours by enrolling in our program.

Explore TREC's Become a Licensed Real Estate Salesperson. This page explains the state requirements and the steps you need to take to become a licensed real estate agent.

Right to Request a Criminal Evaluation

Effective September 1, 2017, TREC requires that TCC notify you of your right to request a criminal evaluation.

The 85th Texas Legislature recently passed House Bill 1508 (HB 1508)

HB 1508 became effective September 1, 2017.

At the August 7, 2017, TREC meeting, proposed amendments to Section 535.65 of the TREC Rules implement changes that HB 1508 made to Chapter 53 of the Texas Occupations Code.

HB 1508 requires that education providers—such as TCC—notify you—a potential student—that a criminal history may make you ineligible for an occupational license.

You have the right to request a criminal history evaluation before you enroll in the courses. You may also request a criminal history evaluation by requesting a Moral Character Determination and paying the fee.

Additionally, HB 1508 authorizes licensing agencies—such as TREC—to require reimbursements when a students fails to receive the required notice.

Review the guidelines regarding criminal history

Courses You Will Take

Check availability: Go to the Course Sections Offered by Term page and scroll down to Continuing Education Terms.

Start with Principles of Real Estate I and II. We suggest you take the courses in this order:

TREC requires an end of course exam, so you will take an exam at the end of each class.

How to Apply

Allow up to 3 business days to complete the enrollment process.

To enroll in real estate classes:

  1. Enroll as a student at TCC: How to Apply for Admission—CIE Student. (Allow 24 hours for this process).
  2. Contact us to request your welcome to Real Estate Packet.
    • Required before you can register for your courses: Review and sign the criminal history information, per House Bill 1508 (passed by the 85th Texas Legislature and effective September 1, 2017).
  3. Register for a real estate class via WebAdvisor.
  4. Verify your registration and access to myTCC, the online portal where you will enter your course.

Detailed Instructions for Enrolling in Real Estate ClassesListen (PDF will open in a new window)

Before the first day of class:

  • Print out your registration and take it to TCC Bookstore to buy your books.
  • Visit the lab you have chosen to make sure you know its location.

 

Contact

Northeast Campus
Community & Industry Education Services
Kate Smith
817-515-6500
katherine.smith2@tccd.edu

Updated December 11, 2017