Skip to main content

Programming

Quick Facts

  • Associate of Applied Science: 2-year program (60 semester credit hours)
  • Certificates:
    • Level 1 (16 semester credit hours)
    • Level 2 (45 semester credit hours)
  • Program is offered at these campuses:

Summary

You will learn to write computer programs—such as C++ and Java—that allow computers and software to function correctly.

You will also learn how to:

  • Update and expand existing programs
  • Test programs for errors
  • Fix faulty lines of computer code

In addition to coursework, you may spend extensive lab time gaining hands-on training with computers.

Program Options

Degree

Northeast, South, Southeast and Trinity River Campuses

Certificates

Northeast, Northwest, South, Southeast and Trinity River Campuses

Level 1
Level 2

Careers

After successfully completing our program, you will be prepared to work as a computer programmer.

Projected Job Growth

Occupational Outlook Handbook

O*NET OnLine

Gainful Employment Disclosures

Explore Careers

Discover careers based on your interests and studies: Career Coach.

Career Coach: Employment Outlook

 

Contact

Northeast Campus

Gayle Everhart, Associate Professor, Department Co-Chair
817-515-6660
gayle.everhart@tccd.edu

Carol Merchant, Instructor, Department Co-Chair
817-515-6660
carol.merchant@tccd.edu

Allyson Oudin, Academic Advisor for Computer Science and Information Technology
817-515-6705
allyson.oudin@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Steve Smiley, Instructor, Department Chair, CSC
817-515-7792
steve.smiley@tccd.edu

South Campus

Shahla Durany, Instructor, Department Chair
817-515-4783
shahla.durany@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

James Dang, Associate Professor, Department Chair
817-515-3633
james.dang@tccd.edu

Trinity River Campus

Tyson McMillan, Ph.D., Professor, Department Chair
817-515-1131
tyson.mcmillan@tccd.edu

Updated December 08, 2017