Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff Brags

Faculty and Staff Brags

This is not an exhaustive list of the many distinguished awards received recently by TCC faculty & staff. Please submit your awards to

Adrian Cook

Associate Professor of Humanities,

Poem, “The Road at Dusk,” named as a semi-finalist at the Poetry Nation National Poetry Contest and was published in an anthology this summer.

Alison Hodges

Instructor of Culinary Arts,

Inducted into Châine des Rôtisseurs , an international gastronomic society founded in Paris in 1950, and dedicated to fine cuisine.

Ann Nguyen

Academic Advisor,

Received Outstanding Academic Advisor Award for the State of Texas at the 25th Annual Texas Academic Advising Network Conference for her outstanding service and commitment to academic advising.

Belinda Lopez

Coordinator of Student Support,

Re-elected as state board treasurer for the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education (TACHE) for the
2018-2020 term.

Bill Pearson

Chief, Fire Service Training Center,

Received Texas Association of Fire Educators (TAFE) Training Officer of the Year Award 2018.

Bryan Douglas

Instructional Associate of Drama,

Three shows nominated for Best Lighting Design, two for Best Lighting Design of a play (equity) and one for Best Lighting Design of a Musical (non-equity) by the Column Awards, a local organization that recognizes excellence in theatre.

Bryan Ericson

Associate Professor of Emergency Medical Services,

Elected incoming board chair for a one-year term for National Association of EMS Educators.

Carrie Tunson

Vice President,

Received Women of Excellence Award at Trinity River Campus during Women’s History Month.

Charles Overstreet

Professor of Psychology,

Appointed to Social Work Field of Study Advisory Committee for Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Chasity Alexander

Coordinator of TRIO,

Received 2018 Staff of the Year Award at Campus Celebration of Excellence Ceremony.

Cindy Hasio

Adjunct of Art,
Trinity River

Article, “Interpreting Visual Semiotic with the Music Video Man in the Mirror,” published in national academic journal, Art Education, Volume 71, issue.

Communications, Public Relations & Marketing Department


Received Platinum Award for REACH Magazine (Digital Version) and Culinary Program Video, and Gold Award for Dara Young – Graduate of TCC Police Academy Video from the dotComm Awards; Gold Award for REACH Magazine from the Hermes Awards and Gold Award for What’s Stopping You? Campaign from the Muse Creative Awards.

David Herndon,

Administrative Lieutenant,

Melanie Gonzalez,

Police Compliance Program Specialist,

Mary Jo Meloy,

Administrative Assistant,

Kateeka Harris,

District Title IX Compliance Officer,

& Caitlin Graves

Student Success Initiatives Coordinator,

Received 2018 Most Improved Clery Compliance Program Award from National Association of Clery Compliance Officers and Professionals.

Donovan Hufnagle

Associate Professor of English,

Released his book, The Sunshine Special, a poetic narrative, which follows a traveling 18-year-old in the summer of 1920 from Fort Worth to Los Angeles.

Dorothy (Tina) Jenkins

Adjunct of Music,

Elected to serve a two-year term as president of Fort Worth Piano Teachers Forum; will also serve as a member of Van Cliburn Board of Directors.

Jeremy Byrd

Professor of Philosophy,

Selected, along with his wife, to write the entry on the Socratic method for the print and online editions of The Sage Encyclopedia of Higher Education, edited by Marilyn J. Armey and Miriam F. David.

Jesus Balderrama

Student Support Services,

Selected to participate in the online experience of NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars.

John Hartley

Associate Professor of Art,

Exhibited two works at Artspace 111 during Spring Gallery Night 2018; curated a show at Gallery 414 titled, “Well Dressed Secrets.”

Jonathan Perez

Coordinator, Intercultural Student Engagement & Academic Success,

Received the 2018 Distinguished Community College Staff Award during the TACHE conference.

Katrina Warner

Instructor of Culinary Arts,

Placed fourth in the American Culinary Federation Competition as part of the Ben E. Keith Foods DFW Food & Equipment Expo held at the Fort Worth Convention Center.

Kimele Carter

Coordinator of Student Accessibility,
Trinity River

Elected to the State Board of Directors of the Texas Association of Black Professionals in Higher Education.

LeeAnn Olivier

Assistant Professor of English,

Her poem, “Necromancy,” alongside an interview, was published in April 2018 issue of Driftwood Press, a print literary journal.

Liz Lounsbury

Instructor of English,

Sold an article, “Debunking the Muse" to the professional journal of the Romance Writers of America.

Mayra Olivares-Urueta

Vice President for Student Development Services,

Recognized as one of the remarkable Women Under 40 through the American Association for Women in Community Colleges.

Melissa Evans

Professor of Kinesiology,

Co-authored an article, “Effectiveness of a Required Health-Related Fitness Course on Dietary Behaviors among Community College Students,” published in The Journal of Health Education Teaching.

Michael DuPont

Vice President of Student Development Services,

Recognized and honored by the Epsilon Chapter of the National Sorority of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc. for his service provided to the community in the area of education.

Murray Fortner

Professor of Sociology,

Selected as one out of 10 professors to receive Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award for superior teaching at the college level.

Peter Martinez

Adjunct Instructor of History,

Dissertation won 2018 NCCS Tejas Foco Dissertation Award by the National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies.

Patricia Richards

Associate Professor of Photography,

Published work in the book, Borrowed Light, by Ian Berry and Jack Shear.

Shelly Pyron

On-Call Registered Nurse,

Received 2018 John Peter Smith Excellence Award for placing needs of patients front and center at the JPS Center for Cancer Care.

Shereah Taylor,

Professor of Education,

Jeremy Byrd,

Professor of Philosophy,

& Brian Johnson

Social Science Chair,

Honored at League for Innovation Conference in Maryland with John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards for outstanding contributions in teaching and leadership at the community college level.

Suzanne Groves

Executive Director of Communications, Public Relations & Marketing,

Received Gold Award for “Mouths of Babes” radio spots from the dotComm Awards; Platinum Awards for “Mouths of Babes” radio and video spots and “Everyday Heroes” video from the Hermes Awards; Gold Award for Mouths of Babes Campaign and “Everyday Heroes” video from the Muse Creative Awards; Gold Award for Mouths of Babes Campaign from the Educational Advertising Awards and Platinum Awards for Mouths of Babes Campaign and “Everyday Heroes” video; Gold Award for “Mouths of Babes” television spots from AVA Digital Awards.

Traci Stonum-Parker

Instructor of Kinesiology,

Selected to speak on the radio show, Police Talk 101, on the topic of health and wellness issues.

Tracy Stone Johnston

Adjunct Instructor in Math,

Honored as Educator of the Year at Saginaw Area Chamber of Commerce's Annual Awards Banquet.

Web Communications Department


Received Gold Award for Tarrant County College Website and Honorable Mention for the TCC Website Homepage from the dotComm Awards; Honorable Mention for the TCC Website from the Hermes Awards.

William Griffith

Director of the Criminal Justice Training Center,

Became Life Member with International Association of Chiefs of Police, an organization dedicated to the advancement of professionalism in law enforcement.

Yonina Robinson

Instructional Associate in Academic Learning Center,

Appointed to TCU AddRan College of Liberal Arts Board of Visitors for a three-year term, to advocate for and support liberal arts.