Skip to main content

Philosophy

Quick Facts

  • Courses:
    • Core Curriculum Requirement: Language, Culture & Philosophy
    • Degree & certificate plan requirements
  • Courses are offered at: all campuses

Summary

Philosophy is a way of thinking that involves analysis, critique and creative argumentation.

Historically, philosophers have used these thinking tools to ponder issues like:

  • The nature of reality
  • The structure and basis for morality
  • The nature and limits of human thought
  • God or fundamental reality, meaning, value and beauty
  • The formation of human society and government
  • Human existence

Our philosophy courses explore not only these historical inquiries and their impact on human civilizations but also the skills that enable you to think with clarity and discipline.

Reasons to Study Philosophy

Studying philosophy teaches you how to:

  • Analyze important issues in your life
  • Use logic and reason to think about our experience of the world
  • Recognize bad reasoning
  • Read closely

And it's interesting!

Courses

 

Contact

Northeast Campus

Mark Reed
817-515-6310
mark.reed@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Adrian Cook, Ph.D., Department Chair
817-515-7305
adrian.cook@tccd.edu

Paul Frazier, Ph.D., Faculty Advisor to Plato's Cave (NW Philosophy Club)
817-515-7097
paul.frazier@tccd.edu

South Campus

Hap Lyda, Ph.D.
817-515-4603
happy.lyda@tccd.edu

Jeremy Byrd, Ph.D. 
817-515-4605
jeremy.byrd@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

Justin Grace
817-515-3478
justin.grace@tccd.edu

Trinity River Campus

Mark Anderson, Ph.D.
817-515-1349
mark.anderson@tccd.edu

Updated November 22, 2017