Skip to main content

Philosophy

Quick Facts

  • Courses:
    • Core Curriculum Requirement: Language, Culture & Philosophy
    • Degree & certificate plan requirements
  • Courses are offered at: all campuses

Summary

Philosophy is a way of thinking that involves analysis, critique and creative argumentation.

Historically, philosophers have used these thinking tools to ponder issues like:

  • The nature of reality
  • The structure and basis for morality
  • The nature and limits of human thought
  • God or fundamental reality, meaning, value and beauty
  • The formation of human society and government
  • Human existence

Our philosophy courses explore not only these historical inquiries and their impact on human civilizations but also the skills that enable you to think with clarity and discipline.

Reasons to Study Philosophy

Studying philosophy teaches you how to:

  • Analyze important issues in your life
  • Use logic and reason to think about our experience of the world
  • Recognize bad reasoning
  • Read closely

And it's interesting!

Courses

 

Contact

Northeast Campus

Bryan Morgan

Call 817-515-6971

Email bryan.morgan@tccd.edu

Northeast Campus

Mark Reed

Call 817-515-6310

Email mark.reed@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Paul Frazier, Ph.D.
Faculty Advisor to Plato's Cave (NW Philosophy Club)

Call 817-515-7097

Email paul.frazier@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Tony Roberts, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-7610

Email tony.roberts@tccd.edu

South Campus

Jeremy Byrd, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-4605

Email jeremy.byrd@tccd.edu

South Campus

Justin Morton, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-4603

Email james.morton2@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

Justin Grace, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-3478

Email justin.grace@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

Mike Vendsel, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-3160

Email michael.vendsel@tccd.edu

Trinity River Campus

Mark Anderson, Ph.D.

Call 817-515-1349

Email mark.anderson@tccd.edu

Updated August 03, 2021