TCC does not at this time require additional charges for either of the following categories of excess hours but is required by law to inform students that charges may be instituted by TCC and/or may be incurred when attending other Texas colleges and universities.
Additional Charges For Students With Excessive Semester Credit Hours
Texas legislation allows state colleges and universities to charge additional tuition and/or fees for students who enter a Texas public higher education institution beginning in fall 1999 and who exceed by more than 45 hours the semester credit hours required for the degree. For undergraduate students initially enrolling fall 2006 or later, the limit is 30 semester credit hours above the number of hours required for the degree. The legislation exempts technical and workforce education courses. At this time, TCC is not charging additional tuition for excessive hours.
Additional Charges for Students Who Exceed 27 Developmental Semester Credit Hours
Texas legislation allows state colleges and universities to charge additional tuition and/or fees for students who exceed 27 semester credit hours in developmental courses. The 27-hour limit does not include any courses in English for Speakers of Other Languages that are taken prior to the students' initial entrance test (i.e., TASP, THEA, TSI Assessment, Compass, MAPS, ASSET). It also does not include any courses in study or thinking skills. At this time, TCC is not charging additional tuition for excess developmental hours.
Additional Charges for Repeated Courses
Recent legislation disallows state funding for any course for which a student enrolls more than two times, regardless of grade received. Tracking of enrollments is the responsibility of the College and will begin with enrollments in the fall 2002 semester. State regulations allow an institution of higher education to charge a higher tuition rate to a student whose hours can no longer be submitted for state funding. Effective fall 2013, an additional amount of $60 will be charged per credit hour for courses you attempt three or more times. This fee is subject to change each year upon action of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
Updated January 20, 2023