Skip to main content

Math Developmental Studies

After you complete the math portion of the TSI Assessment, we are ready to guide you on your path to success.

If you scored in the developmental math sequence, your starting point is our Math Developmental Studies

New Math Pathway

Starting Summer 2017, we will offer 2 pathways in mathematics: algebraic and non-algebraic. The path best for you will depend on your major and your transfer institution’s math course requirements.

Now you can save time and money by taking the math courses that fit your studies and career plans.

Check with your advisor and check your transfer institution’s math courserequirements in the Texas Transfer InventoryListen  (PDF will open in a new window).

Traditional Math Pathway: Algebraic

Courses you will take

  • MATH-0361 Developmental Mathematics I
  • MATH-0362 Intermediate Algebra (Developmental Math II)
  • MATH-1314 College Algebra or 
    MATH-1324 Algebra for Business & Social Sciences

New Math Pathway: Non-algebraic

Courses you will take

  • MATH-0361 Developmental Mathematics I
  • MATH-1332 Contemporary Math or 
    MATH-1342 Elementary Statistical Methods

Courses in Detail

MATH-0361 Developmental Mathematics I

Helps you with topics in mathematics, such as:

  • Arithmetic operations
  • Basic algebraic concepts and notation
  • Geometry
  • Real and complex number systems

MATH-0362 Intermediate Algebra (Developmental Math II)

Helps you with topics in algebra, such as:

  • Relations and functions
  • Inequalities
  • Algebraic expressions and equations (absolute value, polynomial, radical, rational), with a special emphasis on:
    • Linear and quadratic expressions
    • Equations

Prerequisite: MATH-0361 Developmental Math I or satisfactory score on TCC placement test

How you exit Math Developmental Studies

Earn a grade of C or higher in MATH-0361 or MATH-0362.

 

Contact

Northeast Campus

Olena Shevchenko
Mathematics Department
817-515-6659
olena.shevchenko@tccd.edu

Ann Triplett
Mathematics Department
817-515-6659
ann.triplett@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Gary Garland
Mathematics Department 
817-515-7253
gary.garland@tccd.edu

Vicky Gatewood
Mathematics Department 
817-515-7236
vicky.gatewood@tccd.edu

South Campus

Mehrnaz Ghaffarian 
Mathematics Department
817-515-4692
mehrnaz.ghaffarian@tccd.edu

Catherine Haley 
Mathematics Department
817-515-4654
catherine.haley@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

Degaldra (Gala) Gurley
Mathematics Department
817-515-3376
degaldra.gurley@tccd.edu

Daniela Kojouharov
Mathematics Department
817-515-3412
daniela.kojouharov@tccd.edu

Trinity River Campus

Nilanjana Rahman
Mathematics Department
817-515-1368
nilanjana.rahman@tccd.edu

Updated November 22, 2017