Skip to main content

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Workforce ESL

Choose Workforce ESL if you need to learn English to:

  • Get a job
  • Do better in your current job
  • Manage everyday life

You will improve your communication in the workplace and in everyday life.

Learn and practice reading, writing, speaking, and listening in English.

Courses

After basic English, you can take 4 levels of Workforce ESL.

Financial Aid

You can get help paying for these classes through the Texas Public Educational Grant (TPEG)

Academic ESL

Choose Academic ESL if you need to learn English to:

  • Go to college
  • Strengthen your academic English skills

You can start with Academic ESL courses and then continue with English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) to prepare for college success.

Courses

We offer 3 levels of Academic ESL.

After you successfully complete the 3rd level of Academic ESL, you may continue with  ESOL courses to strengthen your academic English skills and prepare for college success.

Talk to your ESL advisor about the ESLX courses are cross-listed with ESOL courses.

Financial Aid

No financial aid is available for these classes.

How Do I Register for ESL Classes?

Follow these steps:

  1. Visit the ESL Department on your campus
  2. Take a placement test
    • If you cannot use a computer, you can talk to an advisor.
    • If you do not know any English, you can start with the basic level.
  3. Meet with the ESL Department to review your test results
  4. Register for classes

Looking for English courses to prepare you for college success?

See ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)

 

Contact

Northeast Campus

ESL: Janelle Cardenas
817-515-6987
janelle.cardenas@tccd.edu

ESOL: Angela Pettit
817-515-6543
angela.pettit@tccd.edu

Northwest Campus

Center for ESL & ESOL: Lourdes Davenport
817-515-7063
nw.esl-esol@tccd.edu

South Campus

ESL: Eleanor Forfang-Brockman
817-515-4593
eleanor.brockman@tccd.edu

ESOL: Cathleen Stevenson
817-515-4094
cathleen.stevenson@tccd.edu

Southeast Campus

ESL: Melody Nguyen
817-515-3565
melody.nguyen@tccd.edu

ESOL: Mary Cinatl
817-515-3147
mary.cinatl@tccd.edu

Trinity River Campus

ESL & ESOL: Sandra Marshall
817-515-1873
sandra.marshall@tccd.edu

Updated November 13, 2019